Click here to become a DATA member

Click here for DATA Sponsorship Kit.
Accepting Donations

Subscribe to DATA

Video Gallery
Photo Gallery

Adilabad - District Info

The district was for long not a homogeneous unit and its component parts were ruled at different periods by dynasties namely, the Mauryas, Satavahanas, Vakatakas, Chalukyas of Badami, Rashtrakutas, Chalukyas of Kalyani, Mughals, Bhosle Rajes of Nagpur and Asaf Jahis, besides the Gond Rajas of Sirpur and Chanda.

Originally this was a sub-district named Sirpur-Tandur which was created in A.D. 1872 with Edlabad (Adilabad), Rajura and Sirpur as its constituent talukas. In 1905, an independent district with headquarters at Adilabad was formed.